Page 1 of 39 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 1141

Thread: Refereeing question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Burton-On-Trent
    Posts
    43,482

    Refereeing question

    Just wondering, do you ever see penalties given for a high boot or a defender diving?

    Or are those offences punished with an indirect freekick in the box?
    Oh my god! Whitney's dead? How's Michael Jackson taking it?

  2. #2
    YoungWolf's Avatar
    YoungWolf is offline World Cup 2014 PTG Champion - Not actually that Young, don't be confused by the pre-teen posting style.
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    23,356
    Indirect freekick for high foot, I know that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Burton-On-Trent
    Posts
    43,482
    Cheers.

    Where's Frank when you need him?
    Oh my god! Whitney's dead? How's Michael Jackson taking it?

  4. #4
    YoungWolf's Avatar
    YoungWolf is offline World Cup 2014 PTG Champion - Not actually that Young, don't be confused by the pre-teen posting style.
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    23,356
    Probably out being his usual hooligan self.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bilbrook
    Posts
    86,152
    Wigan got a penalty for it at Anfield last season, Skrtel booted Moses in the face trying to clear it. Really we should have had one against Villa when Petrov maimed Frimpong.
    The rain falls hard on a humdrum town.

    http://oscillatingwildly.net
    Twitter
    Facebook

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33,025
    I'm not sure a defender would dive in the box.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    A player raising his foot in a dangerous manner would concede an indirect free kick.

    Any player guilty of simulation should be cautioned, and an indirect free kick awarded to the other team. If only more referees would take the correct action, we would make an inroad into all the diving and cheating that occurs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Burton-On-Trent
    Posts
    43,482
    Cheers Frank. So no penalty for either.
    Oh my god! Whitney's dead? How's Michael Jackson taking it?

  9. #9
    James's Avatar
    James is offline The Poster Equivalent of Bolton Wanderers
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    200 yards from the Sea
    Posts
    15,760
    Definitely not a penalty just an indirect free kick but referees have been known to give penalties for this when they shouldn't

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Quote Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
    Cheers Frank. So no penalty for either.
    Correct Sir. A penalty should only be awarded for one of the seven penal offences. Often a player trying an overhead kick will have his foot dangerously close to an opponents head. While clearly not a deliberate act, it could cause injury, which is why an indirect free kick is awarded.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Quote Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
    Cheers Frank. So no penalty for either.
    Correct Sir. A penalty should only be awarded for one of the seven penal offences. Often a player trying an overhead kick will have his foot dangerously close to an opponents head. While clearly not a deliberate act, it could cause injury, which is why an indirect free kick is awarded.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33,025
    When did you turn into Pav, Frank?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by Penk Wolf View Post
    When did you turn into Pav, Frank?
    Pav and Frank, the boards residential Saga Louts, bless 'em.


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16,146
    I picture them more like this:

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Harsh, very harsh.....but possibly correct!!!!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NW Leicestershire
    Posts
    12,943
    Frank,

    Can you answer a query for me please. I think I know the answer but I would like it clarified please.

    Croatia v Spain (Spains winner)

    The Croatia backline clearly try to play Iniesta / Jesus N offside however only Jesus N is in an offside position and the ball goes to Iniesta. Iniesta then squares the ball to Jesus N who is now onside who then walks the ball in for a goal.

    Clearly Jesus N has gained an advantage by being in an offside position as the opposition have let him go and then he is free to tap the ball in. Is this allowed as it is deemed to be another phase of play?
    If so why is a man who is offside when a shot is made not allowed to tap the ball in if it comes back off a post or the keeper as he has gained no more of an advantage as Jesus N did last night.

    Cheers
    Sniffer

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16,146
    I'd ask whether Iniesta used his arm to control it?

    I'd like also to know why Meireles wasn't booked for deliberate handball in portugal v holland. Nani put the ball in the corner quadrant & tapped it & ran off. The holland players were aware of this & chased down meireles who picked the ball up. The dutch were rightly incensed.

  18. #18
    Langers's Avatar
    Langers is offline Dr Admin and PTG Champion x 2 (2011/12, 2012/13)
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Posts
    52,556
    Portuguese in cheating unsportsmanlike wankers shock.
    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it's difficult to determine whether or not they are genuine" - Abraham Lincoln

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16,146
    Quote Originally Posted by Sniffer Grouse View Post
    Frank,

    Can you answer a query for me please. I think I know the answer but I would like it clarified please.

    Croatia v Spain (Spains winner)

    The Croatia backline clearly try to play Iniesta / Jesus N offside however only Jesus N is in an offside position and the ball goes to Iniesta. Iniesta then squares the ball to Jesus N who is now onside who then walks the ball in for a goal.

    Clearly Jesus N has gained an advantage by being in an offside position as the opposition have let him go and then he is free to tap the ball in. Is this allowed as it is deemed to be another phase of play?
    If so why is a man who is offside when a shot is made not allowed to tap the ball in if it comes back off a post or the keeper as he has gained no more of an advantage as Jesus N did last night.

    Cheers
    Sniffer
    In addition, can it reasonably be argued Navas was not interfering with play? Were he not there, perhaps the keeper would have come flying out directly at Iniesta, narrowing the angle with the intention of challenging for the ball? With the position Navas was in, the keeper is less inclined to commit as he will be aware of the option of the pass & doesn't want to gift an open goal opportunity?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Quote Originally Posted by Sniffer Grouse View Post
    Frank,

    Can you answer a query for me please. I think I know the answer but I would like it clarified please.

    Croatia v Spain (Spains winner)

    The Croatia backline clearly try to play Iniesta / Jesus N offside however only Jesus N is in an offside position and the ball goes to Iniesta. Iniesta then squares the ball to Jesus N who is now onside who then walks the ball in for a goal.

    Clearly Jesus N has gained an advantage by being in an offside position as the opposition have let him go and then he is free to tap the ball in. Is this allowed as it is deemed to be another phase of play?
    If so why is a man who is offside when a shot is made not allowed to tap the ball in if it comes back off a post or the keeper as he has gained no more of an advantage as Jesus N did last night.

    Cheers
    Sniffer
    A player may be in an offside position, but because he did not play the ball, the assistant rightly kept his flag down, and when the goal was scored it was another phase of play. That is the interpretation, but I am not saying I agree with it.

    If the ball hits the woodwork or rebounds off the keeper then it is deemed that it is in the same phase of play.

    Things were a lot simpler a few years back, but that is how the law makers say we must proceed.

  21. #21
    Langers's Avatar
    Langers is offline Dr Admin and PTG Champion x 2 (2011/12, 2012/13)
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Posts
    52,556
    Well done to Howard Webb tonight - thought he did really well, and made some very sensible decisions.
    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it's difficult to determine whether or not they are genuine" - Abraham Lincoln

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Pendeford
    Posts
    63,139
    Absolutely excellent refereeing performance. If England don't make the final he looks a certainty.
    I'm looking California

    I'm feeling Minnesota

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Quote Originally Posted by Langers View Post
    Well done to Howard Webb tonight - thought he did really well, and made some very sensible decisions.
    Absolutely. He had a great game, and he could easily have sent off the Czech player in the last minute, but used common sense.

  24. #24
    Freddeno's Avatar
    Freddeno is offline Koscielny Fan Club President, PTG Euro Winner 2016 and all round FPU artist - Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Luleň, Sweden
    Posts
    31,874
    he is like the english version of Collina..

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddingtonwolf View Post
    Absolutely excellent refereeing performance. If England don't make the final he looks a certainty.
    If England beat Italy, all English officials will be released from their Euro2012 commitments.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16,146
    Echo these comments.

    By the way, has anyone read Collina's The Rules Of The Game? Excellent book I felt. Mandatory reading for non refs - you learn a lot.

    *must update the jolly good read thread...*

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16,146
    Quote Originally Posted by FrankMunro-371 View Post
    A player may be in an offside position, but because he did not play the ball, the assistant rightly kept his flag down, and when the goal was scored it was another phase of play. That is the interpretation, but I am not saying I agree with it.

    If the ball hits the woodwork or rebounds off the keeper then it is deemed that it is in the same phase of play.

    Things were a lot simpler a few years back, but that is how the law makers say we must proceed.
    Quote Originally Posted by lemonjelly View Post
    In addition, can it reasonably be argued Navas was not interfering with play? Were he not there, perhaps the keeper would have come flying out directly at Iniesta, narrowing the angle with the intention of challenging for the ball? With the position Navas was in, the keeper is less inclined to commit as he will be aware of the option of the pass & doesn't want to gift an open goal opportunity?
    Frank, I appreciate the answer you've given, but given that both players were on the edge of the 6 yard box when the ball was played through, why is Navas not interfering with play as per my previous query?

  28. #28
    Langers's Avatar
    Langers is offline Dr Admin and PTG Champion x 2 (2011/12, 2012/13)
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Posts
    52,556
    Quote Originally Posted by FrankMunro-371 View Post
    Absolutely. He had a great game, and he could easily have sent off the Czech player in the last minute, but used common sense.
    From a PTG point of view, that was the best decision he made!!

    He also played some really good advantages - one in particular when a Portuguese midfielder went on a mazy run and was fouled a few times, but Webb waited until he actually went down before giving the foul (and unlike other Portuguese players, he actually tried to stay on his feet).

    I hate seeing cheap cards brandished every 2 minutes so thought he did very well indeed.
    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it's difficult to determine whether or not they are genuine" - Abraham Lincoln

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Pendeford
    Posts
    63,139
    You hardly noticed Howard Webb tonight.

    That is the best commendation that a referee can ever be given in my opinion
    I'm looking California

    I'm feeling Minnesota

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lincolnshire.
    Posts
    36,785
    Quote Originally Posted by lemonjelly View Post
    Frank, I appreciate the answer you've given, but given that both players were on the edge of the 6 yard box when the ball was played through, why is Navas not interfering with play as per my previous query?
    I would think he was not given offside because he did not play the ball, and also he was not interfering with the goalkeepers vision. Had the assistant raised his flag, I doubt many would have objected, though technically he was correct.

Similar Threads

  1. Question of the Day
    By Penk Wolf in forum Wolves
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14th April 2012, 01:05 PM
  2. A serious question...
    By JerseyWolf in forum Wolves
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 23rd February 2012, 11:35 AM
  3. Serious Question
    By OldGoldnBlack in forum General Chatter
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10th August 2011, 05:36 PM
  4. Just one question.......WHY?
    By Kenny in forum Other Sport
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th March 2011, 02:10 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •